On Sunday, August 27th, 2017, paddlers from all over the United States will take to the waters off of Southern California in the 40th Catalina Classic Paddleboard Race, the premier and most historical paddleboard race in the world. Officially started in 1955 by Los Angeles County Lifeguard Bob Hogan, the first Catalina crossing was won in 1932 by Tom Blake, beating out Pete Peterson and Wally Burton in just under 6 hours. Legendary watermen such as Ricky Grigg, Mike Bright, Tom Zahn, Gregg Noll, Bob Hogan, Kemp Aaberg, Mike Doyle, George Downing, Joe Quigg, Mickey Munoz, Mike Eaton, Buzzy Kerbox, Joe Bark, Jamie Mitchell, and Laird Hamilton have helped make the Catalina Classic the preeminent waterman’s event of the year. Paddlers will leave Catalina Island at dawn and paddle 32 miles to the Manhattan Beach Pier on boards between 12 and 19 feet long, using only their hands to propel them through the water. Swells, Currents and wind conditions play into what is notoriously one of the most grueling endurance events in the world.

Mailing Address (applications are not accepted by mail)

Catalina Classic Paddleboard Association, Inc.
PO Box 3556
Manhattan Beach CA 90266

Email: racedirector@catalinaclassicpaddleboardrace.com